Hot topics | Coronavirus pandemic

The US Has Imposed New Sanctions On Iran

The US Has Imposed New Sanctions On Iran

The United States added eight legal entities to the list related to anti-Iran sanctions on Thursday, according to the notification of the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) of the US Treasury.

The list includes several Iranian companies, as well as legal entities from the United Arab Emirates, Germany, and the special administrative region of Hong Kong. These are companies engaged in the production of steel, aluminum, and iron, as well as their subsidiaries acting as sales agents.

"The Iranian regime continues to use the profits generated from the activities of metal producers and foreign trade agents to Finance destabilizing behavior around the world," says US Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin.

All property and property interests of listed companies are blocked in the United States. American citizens are not allowed to conduct any operations with them. The US Treasury also threatens sanctions on foreign companies for doing business with the list's defendants.

On November 5, 2018, the United States resumed full sanctions against Iran. Iranian oil exports, as well as more than 700 banks, companies, and individuals, fell under them. That happened after Washington withdrew from the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) on the Iranian nuclear program on May 8, 2018, which put the future of the nuclear deal in question.